My kids asked me a million questions. ‘Where is Daddy’ …In heaven?

I was caught on an unguarded moment when my boys  (Eldest 6 y/0, Youngest 5 y/0) asked about the Daddy question. My mind goes blank and My answer… “In Heaven”.. Oh noooo… I’m sorry to the biological dad for an advance RIP… But really the so called “DAD” is nowhere  else to be found. It’s been 4 years now…. No Happy Birthdays, No Merry Christmas nor Happy new year greetings..Literally, No Hi No Hello…

My conversation with my kids last night started with an old picture of Leonardo Dicaprio hanging on the ceiling of my room at our ancestral home. (We are still on holidays so yeah!)

Me, My kids lying in bed when kid 1 asked: Mom, Who is that guy? (pointing to the old stationery mini poster hanging on the ceiling.)

Me: He is the Actor that i  like when i am still single ( out of words yeah i said “single! ) He is Leonardo Dicaprio.

Kid 1: Oh you like him when you were still young ( oh there Right term; “young”)

Me: Oh yes when I’m still young i used to like him.

Kid1: Does your mom knows about that…

Me: *laughs* of course mama knew about it. (note: MAMA – they call my mom, MAMA)

kid 1: Who is your Mama then?

Me: ehhh MAMA… Our mama.. Mama is your Lola (Grandmother)

Kid 2: …and PAPA ? ( PAPA- My dad- they call my dad, PAPA)

Me: So PAPA is your Lolo (Grandfather) My dad..

Kid 1 & 2 (in harmony) : DAD? SO HOW ABOUT OUR DAD? OUR DADDY?

ME: My mind went blank for  a second.. and i uttered.. Your DAD? “IN HEAVEN” ( Really! Unexpected question from the Leonardo picture topic)

Kid 2: In heaven? He is up there in the TREE ( Being a kid… Heaven = A high tree)

Kid 1: Mom what is Rambutan ( See the randomness while asking about the dad!)

Me: Rambutan is a fruit

Kid 2: (Continues his “Tree” statement ) He is up there in the tree eating BANANA? ( He’s talking with actions, like heaven being high as a tree^^)

ME:  I died laughing at the moment… My kids too adorable to handle ^^

To prevent them for asking more about the “Dad”.. I change the topic to “It’s late guys.. mommy is really getting sleepy, better sleep too okay”

My eldest son know about his dad though… Initially At an early age of 4 He started to asked & talked about “where is, what is a Dad” “Dad used to fight with you” “Dad and us used to eat here” and so on.. As for my youngest, I know He will ask over and over as He is more exposed to school, peers and such situations that will include the picture of “Where is Dad” by the way?

Last night I wasn’t prepared to be honest. Next time… I’ll try to rehearse  and or maybe write a script? But, Let it be….  I know… Every single mom by choice should have had anticipated this kind of questions. I am ready to discuss about it but last night was just not the right time.. How do you shift a LEONARDO question to as Your Dad is somewhere else with someone being irresponsible and immature…there and then… end of story.^__^  Just kidding, of course I am yet to give a balance response to my kids Daddy question. Maybe They will ask me again later tonight… while looking up at the ceiling and gazing on Leonardo Dicaprio.. ^__^

Leave a comment